Tel: 07443 583695

About Newton St Loe Parish Council

A parish council is a local authority (and nothing to do with the Church despite what you may have seen in The Vicar of Dibley). Its members are democratically elected to represent the local community. The next elections will be in May 2019. Newton St Loe Parish Council meets (about) every two months. Its meetings, held in the Village Hall, are advertised on this website and are open to the public. Every meeting includes a short period where members of the public may make comments or ask questions.

Newton St Loe Parish Council currently

  • provides the Recreation Ground for the benefit of the community
  • receives a copy of every planning application which affects the parish and is able to comment on them, if necessary at a meeting of Bath and North East Somerset Council’s Development Management Committee
  • considers and comments on issues of concern to residents such as traffic and parking in the village
  • monitors issues such as pot-holes, litter, the state of footpaths and street-lighting problems (all these are the responsibility of Bath and North East Somerset Council)

Note that the Village Hall is run by its own trustees and not by the Parish Council.

Parish councillors

Mark Foster, Chairman of the Council
Kylie Light, Vice-Chairman of the Council
John Everitt
Hugh Gay
David McLean

Contact details to follow shortly, until then email the clerk


The Parish Council has one employee, its Clerk, Crispin Taylor. Crispin is a Principal Member of the Society of Local Council Clerks and holds the Certificate in Local Council Administration, the recognised qualification for clerks.

Designed by City Web Design Powered by Wordpress